MASPA and JEA Contests

Massachusetts All-state Journalists 
MASPA named its second All-state High School Journalism team in February 2019–the most accomplished high school seniors working for publications across the state. Check out the 2019 winners here, and the 2017 winners here.

Massachusetts High School Journalist of the Year
Be named the top high school journalist in Massachusetts.

See specific requirements here.

Due: Feb. 1, 2020, to JEA State Director Brett Zinger — [email protected]

National High School Journalist of the Year
The state winners from all 50 states move on to the national competition, where the winner earns a $3,000 scholarship and runners up an $850 award. The winner and runners up are announced at the spring national JEA/NSPA convention, next year in Anaheim from April 25-27, 2019.

Previous Massachusetts High School Journalists of the Year

2019 Nathan Zhao, Wayland High School
2018 Cassidy Wang, Algonquin Regional

Runners up: Dakota Antelman, Hudson High School, and Isabel Gitten, Wayland High School

2017 Mona Baloch, Newton South High School
2016 Nathaniel Bolter, Newton South High School
2015 No winner
2014 Alexandra Schley, Hudson High School
2013 Astha Agarwal, Newton South High School
2012 Joe Joseph, Newton South High School
2011 Josh Kruskal, Newton South High School
2010 Sascha Bercovitch, Newton South High School
2009 No winner
2008 Katie Sanders, Newton South High School
2007 Ben Cotton, Newton South High School