MASPA Names 2020 All-State Staff, JOY Winner


Dina Zeldin of The Lion’s Roar at Newton South discusses stories for the paper’s February issue. Zeldin was named the Massachusetts High School Journalist of the Year Tuesday. Photo by Dorothy Dolan.

MASPA has named five graduating seniors as members of its 2020 All-State High School Journalism staff:

Taeyeon Kim, Brookline High School

Becky Miller, Wellesley High School

Emma Nicholson, Franklin High School

Kate Waisel, Wellesley High School

Dina Zeldin, Newton South High School

Sophia Serratore of Norwood High School earned honorable mention recognition. 

In addition, Dina Zeldin of Newton South High School  has been chosen as the Journalism Education Association’s Massachusetts High School Journalist of the Year. She will be eligible for national awards at the JEA/NSPA spring national high school journalism convention in Nashville in April.

To enter the contest, students produced an online portfolio highlighting their journalistic work (click on their names above to link to their portfolios). They also submitted a resume of their high school journalism experience and wrote a two-page reflection on their journalism careers to date.

A panel of experienced advisers and a former winner evaluated the entries.

MASPA first named an all-state staff in 2017 in an effort to recognize the diverse excellence of high school journalists in Massachusetts.