Massachusetts Scholastic Press Association




Which is the most commonly used social media app at your school?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

MASPA Names 12-member All-State Staff, Journalist of the Year

2024 Mass. High School Journalist of the Year Bella Ishanyan photographs a protest march.

MASPA recognized 12 outstanding seniors as its 2024 All-State High School Journalism Staff Thursday, and also named Newton South senior Bella Ishanyan as the 2024 Massachusetts High School Journalist of the Year.

The 12 members of the All-State staff submitted portfolios of their work, resumes, and reflective essays as part of their applications, which were reviewed by a four-member judging panel — JEA Massachusetts director Brett Zinger, JEA  New Hampshire director Tim Cain, JEA Connecticut director Dave Fortier, and Lian Parsons-Thomason, professional journalist and president of the Boston chapter of the Asian American Journalists Association.

The depth and breadth of Ishanyan’s writing, design, and leadership on her school paper, The Lion’s Roar, impressed judges, as well as her reporting for professional publications, MASPA Executive Director Brian Baron said.

Ishanyan now becomes the Massachusetts representative in JEA’s national High School Journalist of the Year Contest. JEA will name a national winner and runners up at its spring national convention in Kansas City in April, with scholarship money as prizes.

The JOY winner and 12 All-State High School Journalists for 2024, with links to their portfolios:

Paige Ablon, Wellesley High School.  Amanda Brown, adviser

Jeffrey Asaredanquah, Weston High School. Kate Lemons, adviser

Bella Ishanyan, Newton South High School, 2024 Massachusetts High School Journalist of the Year. Ashley Chapman, adviser. 

Ezra Kleinbaum, Brookline High School. Lindsay Wise, adviser

Evan Michaeli, Brimmer and May. David Cutler, adviser

Tyler Mignault, Nashoba Regional High School. Melissa Foley-Procko, adviser

Daniel O’Toole, Malden High School. Ryan Gallagher, adviser

Nola Patty, Oakmont Regional High School. Mark Nevard, adviser 

Miles Pearlman, Newton South High School. Sam Lee, adviser

Grace Tucceri, Franklin High School. John Leighton, adviser

Hadjar Yousfi, Malden High School. Ryan Gallagher, adviser

Emma Zhang, Newton South High School. Ashley Chapman, adviser

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All MASPA Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *